Food, Fun, NYC, Sullivan, Sweets

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Cream Pie

IMG_2016 IMG_2017

I finally had the day off on Monday, so I went to a local garden and picked up some fresh Kale with my “adopted” theater parents.  They also gave me some homemade pie crust to use up.  Now I will never go back to the store bought crap because this crust is killer.  It is pretty much all crisco and flour, but so flaky and tasty in comparison to the premade frozen stuff I usually buy out of convenience.

IMG_2031

After having some fun in the sun it was time to bake in the kitchen.

The ingredients in this dessert is best described in the title.  My first thoughts were a berry pie, which are my favorite, but I wanted to do something more creative.  Mandy and I did a lot of searching and thinking about this one so we were able to create a pie off of no recipe.  Some may call it cheating as it is “semi”homemade, but we just wanted it to turn out well so we figured the more premade ingredients we bought, the better.  We came up with four layers starting with the thickest on the bottom.  

  1. Pie crust
  2. Peanut butter
  3. banana
  4. Chocolate mousse

I did not have a proper pie pan so I used a simple round dish and found a recipe online to bake the crust.  In order for it not to puff up, I poked the raw dough with a fork and covered it in foil and weighed it with dried beans.  

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Cream Pie

Pie crust

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup vanilla almond milk 

2-3 ripe bananas

chocolate pudding

whipped cream (light or regular)

 

IMG_2021 IMG_2022

I want to say 425 degrees for 10 minutes before lowering the temperature and removing the weight to cook another 10 minutes at 350 degrees or until the edges were just golden.

While that was cooking we combined the peanut butter, almond milk, and powdered sugar and a splash of extra vanilla until it tasted sweet.  We layered it on the pie crust while hot because it was easier to spread.

IMG_2025

Then lined the whole thing with bananas.

Finally this is my cheat.  I thought I should make homemade chocolate pudding, but that would have been a lot of ingredients to buy and if it turned out too runny, the whole pie would be ruined.  To avoid any problems, we combined two “snack packs” of chocolate pudding with about a cup of whipped cream to lighten it up and covered over the bananas.

IMG_2026

Then we wanted to top it off to make it pretty because we figured it would be very messy to plate…

IMG_2027 IMG_2028

Lucky us, after refrigerating about an hour, the slices came out perfectly!

IMG_2029

Look at that layering! Mmmm it was gone very quickly so it is time to think of a new recipe to share with those who missed out.

Standard

Leave a Reply

