Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, Sullivan, Sweets

Strawberry Shortbread Bars

Time for a farewell dinner party with a dear friend Lauren.  Although I have a busy schedule in tech for A Funny Thing Happened on the way to the Forum, I used my resources.  I still have a ton of homemade jam from the other week, I bought another spaghetti squash which I plan on microwaving and making into a side dish, and potatoes as leftover props from Fiddler on the Roof which I plan on making into gnocchi.  Oh and Lauren has some extra Chicken and Chicken Sausage we plan on using in some capacity.

The results will be revealed in the next post as the dinner is planned for tomorrow.  Most importantly I started with dessert.  I was VERY pleased with the results only after my modifications.  Much better than the thumbprints I attempted a few blog posts ago.

The basic recipe was from a blog called Freutcake 

Freutcake’s “Strawberry Jam Crumb Bars”

1 2/3 cups flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
5 Tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
3 Tbsp brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
2 Tbs Meyer lemon zest + 1 tsp reserved
1 large egg yolk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup seedless strawberry jam
1 Tbsp elderflower liqueur (such as St. Germain)

My Modifications

  1. No lemon zest as there was already lemon in my jam
  2. No elderflower liqueur… just not needed
  3. Added peanut butter chips to make a pb&j effect to half
  4. Added TJ’s cinnamon crusted almonds to the top of half
  5. I used a round pan because I did not have an 8X8 in dish 
  6. I lined it with aluminum foil instead of parchment paper because I didn’t have any

Whoa I think I can now consider it my own recipe as it is nothing like the original

IMG_1975

First I creamed the sugar and butter, then incorporated the rest of the wet ingredients as you would a normal shortbread recipe.  Then added the flour until it was crumbly and layered half in the bottom of the pan.

IMG_1976

Then I spread the jam generously overtop

IMG_1979

With the rest of the dough I mixed in nuts to half and peanut butter chips to the other half just to test (luckily both sides are great)

IMG_1977 IMG_1978

I baked it for 25 minutes at 350 degrees and I decided this one is hard to over/undercook.  It tastes like a nutrigrain bar without the chemicals or just simply a divine treat to be repeated for sure! 

I have not cut them up yet but here is the finished product fresh out of the oven.  I think this is one that is really tasty at room temperature or hot as well as soft or crispy.

IMG_1982 

Standard

Leave a Reply

