Dining, Food, Fun, NYC

rainy day baking away- Palmiers

Well it is rainy here in the city meaning I will be cooking away.  Since I am trying to use up leftovers I have found the biggest challenge being the puff pastry because it comes in two HUGE sheets.  The best thing about it is I can make whatever I want with it and so not really need to measure ingredients like most baked desserts

IMG_1717Any guess what these are?

Well they’re delicious and remind me of my favorite carnival dessert the elephant ear.  These are so simple I am almost embarrassed to count this as a post.  After reading up on what a palmier is, a small french crispy cookie, I decided to make the cookies because they look and seemed like they would taste great.  Also because it did not require me running to the store to buy any additional ingredients.  I used up a whole sheet of puff pastry and brought in the final product to a place I was volunteering.  

Before and After

IMG_1719 IMG_1720

 

Elephant Ear Puffs

  1. Spread cinnamon sugar mixture on both sides of a sheet of puff pastry.
  2. Fold sides into the center twice and press together so they do not spread too much while baking.
  3. Let sit overnight in fridge.  I just did this because that is what other recipes said and I wanted to bake them fresh in the morning so they were nice and crisp.
  4. Bake on parchment paper at 400 degrees for 12 minutes.  I added extra cinnamon sugar to each after laying them out.
  5. Flip and bake another 5-8 minutes or until crispy.

Everything about this is simple but waiting and smelling the cinnamon baking is so painful.  Needless to say I ate them as my breakfast.

Since it is so simple I have another quick bite I baked as a dessert yesterday with the puff pastry and I STILL have some leftover.  I used a plum I got free from work.  The one with jam was better.

IMG_1733 IMG_1732

Since it is rainy I think I am going to make the mystery ingredient today! Another hint… it does not have to be refrigerated until after opening it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

